Skip to main content
Show Data
Concerto: A Beethoven Journey
Concerto: A Beethoven Journey
“You’ll hear Beethoven as if for the first time” – The Guardian
  • 92
  • Director: Phil Grabsky
    Running time: 1h 32mins

    Filmed over the course of four years award-winning director Phil Grabsky follows leading concert pianist Leif Ove Andsnes’s attempt to understand and interpret one of the greatest sets of works for piano ever written: Beethoven’s five piano concertos.

    Leif Ove Andsnes’s own life as a top pianist is also revealed – and, despite knowing and performing all the great composers of history, he concludes after this major project with Beethoven’s piano concerti – and a world-wide sell-out tour – that the greatest composer in history is indeed Ludwig van Beethoven.